Something For the Freaks


I don’t watch TV at all so I missed something really great that came out 10 years ago. I know most of my friends too have never heard of this series because it was out less than a blink of a season. But in less than a month, it’s finally started to vibrate and multiply rapidly amongst the real cats this show was originally catered to. TEN years later!

The show is called Freaks & Geeks. I just got turned onto it by my one of my friends and I’ve been hooked ever since. If you want to know what it was like for a freak or geek growing up in America, then you have to get these DVDs. Seriously you guys, it struck a sentimental chord with me and I want all the cool kids of my generation to watch these shows. If you grew up in the Midwest, then this show will hit you harder because it all takes place in Michigan! They mention all the streets, the hang out spots, the Denny’s all-niters…everything! This show can get you down sometimes because it really serves as a connection to the past but still I’m always feening for more episodes.

It does make sense why it was pulled from the air. One, it’s so fucking true to the core. Two, at the time it came out, the people it really appealed to were already freaks -just finishing high school, finishing college, or already had a start in the real world to even care about the freaks on TV. It makes sense. We were all still freaks growing up!

This show I hold close to my heart because it is a well-documented program of my life, my friends, and our lifestyle. It captured glimpses of the punk rock scene, but not so much the skating side mostly because it took place in the 80s, before the skate movement hit the Midwest hardcore. Every person in the episode is a replica of some kid I hung out with. I was a freak! Blue hair, baseball jerseys, skate jeans and shoes, and that I want to die – this all sucks- I’m so bored – attitude. I’ve got the whole series on me to watch on my laptop on the plane and for all those downtime moments. If you like the Wonder Years, this is an extension of it. It’s a 1000X better in my book! Props to those who tried to actually bring some real magic to U.S. crap TV. This series is so brilliantly written. If anybody can locate an actual script from the show for me, please write me and tell me. I need to study that thing. I have 2 shows to pitch to HBO in the fall! That show gave me so much inspiration to write again. Watch it!

